Drudge Appeals to Homophobes

Internet sleaze-jockey Matt Drudge is on my shit list again.  Over the last several days, ever since Kerry announced that Edwards was his VP candidate, Drudge has been subtly playing the homophobe card to take shots at the Democratic duo.

Drudge started by prominently featuring photographs of the two men together that were somewhat suggestive.  Anything with the two men touching, embracing, or smiling at each other was finding its way to the top of the Drudge Report.  At this time, Drudge also began using evocative headlines, such as “Kerry Picks a Mate.”  When this happened, I was annoyed at the obvious attempt to slyly inject imagery that would strike a chord with the homophobic elements of the population.

Then Drudge took it to the next level; he created a collage of the images yesterday and ran it with a “report” that focused on the fact the two men “can’t keep their hands off each other.”  Drudge had progressed from subtle innuendo to blatantly questioning their sexuality.  The gloves are off; Drudge is calling them gay.

No, don’t get me wrong, if the men were gay it wouldn’t affect my opinion of them in any way.  But I sadly recognize that a significant number of Americans are less accepting and not quite as tolerant. These folks might not react well to such an idea.  Matt Drudge also knows this.

Maybe it’s just me, but if I wanted to be considered a serious journalist (and not a hate-monger and a hack), I’d probably avoid playing the “you’re a fag” card in an attempt to appeal to homophobes.  I’d be afraid that it would debase my reporting and expose me as a name-calling, intolerant fraud.  But that’s just me.

UPDATE: Buzzflash is running an editorial about exactly this topic.  One thing I learned from it: Drudge is gay.  I can’t even fathom what kind of closeted, self-hating gay man would engage in such wanton gay-bashing, but we are talking about Drudge.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

