Some Post-Election Thoughts

Yesterday, America voted and we lost.

Frankly, it was a bit of a reality check for me.  I’ve been reading blogs, reading editorials, and having conversations with so many like-minded individuals lately that I truly began to believe that Kerry would win.  The sad truth is that the majority of Americans simply do not think like me and apparently do not share my values.  I can’t even begin to express the profound sadness this realization brings.

At first, I went through denial.  “Surely, once the votes are counted in Ohio,” I told myself, “Kerry will come out on top.”  No such luck.

Now I’m in a grieving stage, I suppose.  I suspect I will be for a while.  So, tonight I will watch The West Wing and try to imagine President Bartlett isn’t fictional.

Some people say “we get the government we deserve.”  Well America, you asked for it.  Four more years starts now.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

