Use Your Magic

The MonkeyBlog is typically a place for ranting and raving.  For today though, in light of the holiday season, I’d like to take a break from that for a kinder, gentler sort of post.  If you prefer the usual, rude fare, I’d suggest you skip this one and head over to my last post, “Eff You, Joe Buck.”

I’d like to tell you a story about something that happened to me a couple of years ago. 

My wife likes Kermit the Frog.  She always has, ever since she was little.  Oddly enough, I can actually do a passable imitation of Kermit’s voice.  So, from time to time, I do it to make my wife smile. 

A couple years ago, I had an idea.  I went out and purchased a Kermit puppet so that I could have Kermit drop by our house to pay my wife a visit.  It’s goofy, but I figured she’d get a laugh out of it.  So, one day, I brought the puppet home and surprised my wife with it.  That’s when something magical happened.

As the puppet came to life in hands, my wife suddenly became a little girl again.  Her eyes lit up, and a look of wonder spread across her face as she watched Kermit’s every move.  She even exhibited a child-like shyness that rendered her almost unable to speak until I (Kermit) prompted her by saying it was, in fact, okay to talk to the frog.

In those few, brief moments, when my wife became a girl who was meeting her childhood hero, I felt as if I possessed some wonderful magic.  It was terrific. 

This may seem like a silly little story, but it’s actually one of my fondest memories in recent years.  It was only later that I realized that the “magic” that I had that day is something that we all possess.  To unlock it, all you need is the desire to touch someone else’s heart.

So, this holiday season, I’d encourage you to find ways to use your magic to touch someone else.  You don’t have to save the world; sometimes it’s the little stuff that matters.  Just try to remember — whether it’s someone close to you, a stranger in a crowded mall, or even a jerk like Joe Buck — each person you meet is a fragile soul who wants to love and be loved. 

Happy Holidays.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

